WhatsApp View Once Feature: Share Sensitive Messages With Confidence Now!

Must Read

Average Salary Hike In India: 8.6% In 2022, IT Sector Will Offer the Highest [REPORT]

The latest Deloitte’s Workforce and Increment Trends 2021 survey has addressed salary increment by industry, bonus or variable pay plans,...

Sony Zee Merger In India: Could Change the Dynamics of Indian Media Industry!

India's two biggest media networks Sony Pictures Networks India (SPNI) and Zee Entertainment Enterprises Ltd. (ZEEL) announced their merger,...

Indian Ad Industry To Grow By 9% In 2012: Expected To Reach Rs. 28,013 Crore

Indian advertisement industry has missed the opportunity of incubated marketing trend as its growth percentage rate had shrink to 8 percent...

WhatsApp announced that it would soon let users send instant disappearing photos and videos. This week the feature will be rolling out to over 2 billion WhatsApp users worldwide.

Dazeinfo first reported about the feature in November last year. Looks like after achieving the stability, WhatsApp is now set to roll out this feature to everyone.

The Facebook-owned messaging app allows anyone to share a photo and video in “view once” mode. This feature will allow for a single viewing of the media before it disappears. Shared media with “view once” selected, will be vanished after the intended audience takes one look and rolls down or up, or closes the app.

Advertisements

The company states that the WhatsApp View Once feature would be helpful for many purposes, even if they are not sending nudes. The company, however, mentioned in fine lines that the photos and videos shared in view once mode, will disappear after the recipient have a look, but that doesn’t mean someone can’t take a screenshot of them.

Such feature is quite useful in a situation when users need to share some sensitive information, like password, with anyone. Once viewed, the message would disappear from the recipient’s device. Users are also not allowed to copy such messages or forward the same with anyone.

Facebook says the new View Once feature is a step to give users “even more control over their privacy”. However, it’s sounding like a broken record since Mark Zuckerberg first declared a new “privacy-focused vision” for the company back in 2019. Facebook has made a few gestures toward letting people wrest control of their online privacy since then, streamlining audience controls on its core app and enabling disappearing messages in WhatsApp; all thanks to a whopping $5 billion fine slapped on Facebook over privacy issues.

The company has been very vocal about its plans to bring end-to–end encryption to all of its messaging services. It also intends to make these services interoperable in the near future. WhatsApp introduced end-to-end encryption as a default feature in 2016. However, Messenger and Instagram may still require the privacy measure.

Earlier WhatsApp introduced similar feature, albeit with a longer duration for a message to disappear. In April, WhatsApp released an auto disappear feature.

Advertisements

WhatsApp View Once message feature is a page Facebook has taken from the book of Snap (earlier known as Snapchat).

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

Owning Your Own Business Is Wonderful, But Tricky!

There are many directions in which people go throughout their lifetime. Some will prioritize getting a stable income and...

In-Depth: Dprime

Will ‘TikTok By Microsoft’ Be A Winner?

For the last two years, TikTok has been in the public eye for all sorts of reasons. First, it was the exploded and unparalleled...

Facebook Subscription Model: Looking Beyond Ad Dollars?

Seldom do job listings create a stir this gripping. However, when the job listing in question is a stealth post from Twitter, with a...

Will The Online Food Delivery Market in India End Up Becoming A Two-Horse Race?

It's pretty much evident that the food delivery space in India is all set to get riled up soon enough as one of the...

More Articles Like This