Facebook New Alert Feature Keeps Users Protected from Attacks


It is no secret Facebook Inc. (NASDAQ:FB) is graduating with each passing day by introducing new features and carving a niche to enclose its users, and transform itself into a one-stop destination for all type of internet users, be it advertisers, marketers, brands, or avid content readers. With everything under one roof, it is imperative for Facebook to ensure the safety of the user. In line with the thought, Facebook has incorporated a new security feature that intimates the users through notification if their account is vulnerable for the attacks sponsored by the nation-state.

The new feature introduced display a security notification on the vulnerable user account stating that Facebook suspects a potential attack through state-sponsored actors. The notification ends with “Turn on Login Approvals” button insisting users to activate the service. The notification prevents the users to log in from a new device or browser as the users will receive a security code on the phone to verify the identity of the users logging in through other means.

Further, the alert does not indicate the Facebook’s platform or system under attack but the computer or the mobile device used to access the account may be vulnerable to malware attack.

Facebook is more than social networking site; quite recently it has transformed itself into a kind of shopping hub through Canvas to cater its business. The Facebook has also introduced few new features for video content lovers to consume video content in a more convenient manner going further. Apart from this, it is the Internet.org – now called Free Basics – the free internet by the Facebook, and similar kind of  initiatives to gulp social media user’s time completely. With all these, Facebook no more remains a single app on the smartphone but, recreates a small online world for the users; So, safeguarding users also becomes prime for the social media network.

Any account vulnerable to such attacks is under the monitoring of Facebook. However, only in case of nation-sponsored attacks Facebook alerts the user with the new notification and secure the account. Nation-sponsored attacks are the high scale threats posing a risk for other online accounts of the user as well.

The users receiving such alert from Facebook must consider rebuilding the system and devices through which they are accessing the sites. Once the whole system goes gets restructured, it secures all the online accounts of the user.

Facebook Not the first one to alert its Users

The undisputed king of social media networking with 1.49 billion users Facebook is not the first one to alert its users. Google added this new feature of secure the users much before in 2012 against such attacks.

Cyber attacks lead to loss of potential data recently, Ashley Madison attacks exposed the data of its millions of users resulting in huge loss of credibility and private info of its millions of users threatening the privacy.

Facebook so far, has not mentioned on how a particular attack considered as a nation-sponsored one. The nation-sponsored attacks, however, are powerful than the individual attacks. A social media site is a treasure with loads of personal info and interests and means a lot for the hackers.

To Top