Beware: Stay Away From The Latest Facebook Timeline Scam !


It’s not an exaggeration to say that Online Social Network sites have revolutionized the Web. They’re at the forefront of the web 2.0 movement and Facebook is one of elite few leading the charge. Every day, hundreds of people join the social network giant to reconnect with old acquaintances and make new friends. Timeline is nothing but the improved and organized version of the users’ profile page showcases your previous activities in well tuned and attractive way. Time line allows users to distinguish their items based upon the year, object types and applications.

However, there are several scams pretending to offer users the ability to disable or remove the Facebook Timeline. The Scam actually misguide user by claiming to provide an ability to activate the timeline layout before the official launch. Timeline is already launched and a good number of users already have it. Most people, even at this point are the holdouts that are hanging on to the old profile until Facebook forces the compulsory switch. If you do not have Timeline and you want it now and don’t want to fall for this scam, all you have to do is,  go to the official Introducing Timeline Facebook page and click the ‘Get it Now’ button.

Here is what the wall post looks like used to spread the scam on Facebook:

If the user clicks on the link, they are taken to Facebook page called ‘Introducing Timeline’. This page has grabbed over 120,000 users and still havn’t been shut down by Facebook

On clicking on the ‘Activate Timeline’ button, you will be directed to an external website designed to look similar to Facebook – called phishing Facebook site. This is one of the tricks scammers use.

Do not allow the cute puppy fool you. Even though the page looks legitimate, you are now in the scammer’s domain. Clicking through the steps will cause you ‘like’ the page and share the data. Clicking the ‘Activate and Verify’ button represents the following

Here is another issue where Scammers are taking advantage of some users’ desire to revert back to the old profile and do away with the Timeline. Many number of pages and apps have popped up in recent weeks that claim to be able to deactivate the Timeline. The pages ask users to click like buttons, share things with friends, etc. But of course, all of this work fails to lead to the removal of the Timeline, but instead allows scammers access to user data as well as the ability to spam the hell out of their friends.

Here’s one of the many pages that tell about the Deactivation services. As you’ll see, the steps, that ask users to complete, are pretty annoying.

Now we see the end of the game. The scam creator is after your Facebook mobile email address. But, the big question question here is “Why would the scammer go through all of this trouble just to get your Facebook mobile email address” ? Sophos pointed out that if someone posses your Facebook mobile email address, they can update status, upload photos and videos straight from your profile and could be clearly abused. It is very important to keep the address safe. If it falls into the wrong hands, then you are likely to find another scam message being circulated to all of your friends through you. It’s time to get yourself informed of the latest threats.

Make sure you join Dazeinfo page on Facebook to stay informed with all such scams, latest security issues and many more exiting information about Tech world. Remember – information is only useful if people can find it !

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: 70% Facebook Users Vote Against 'Mandatory' Timeline [INFOGRAPHIC]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top